## THE JAPANESE ASSOCIATION

## FOR AMERICAN STUDIES

Office: Center for Pacific and American Studies, Graduate School of Arts and Sciences, The University of Tokyo 3-8-1 Komaba, Meguro-ku, Tokyo, Japan 153-8902 (Telephone & Fax 03-5454-6163)

Officers (2000-2002)	President
	Kensaburo Shinkawa Ferris University
	Vice Presidents
	Toyoomi Nagata Ritsumeikan University
	Yasuo Okada Keio University
	Executive Directors
	Eiichi Akimoto Chiba University
	Jun Furuya Hokkaido University
	Yoshikatsu Hayashi Meiji University
	Masako Iino Tsuda College
	Eisaku Kihira Kyoto University
	Noboru Kosaka Obirin University
	Masako Notoji University of Tokyo
	Naoki Onishi International Christian University
	Takashi Sasaki Doshisha University
	Yoshiko Takita University of Tokyo
	Daizaburo Yui University of Tokyo
Past Presidents	Yasaka Takagi (1947–66)
	Shigeharu Matsumoto (1966-68)
	Naozo Ueno (1968-70)
	Keiji Ohara (1970–72)
	Hiroshi Shimizu (1972-74)
	Kenichi Nakaya (1974–76)
	Yasuo Suga (1976–78)
	Kinuko Kubota (1978–80)
	Makoto Saito (1980-82)
	Akira Imazu (1982–84)
	Motoo Kaji (1984-86)
	Nagayo Homma (1986–88)
	Yasuo Sakakibara (1988–90)
	Yoshimitsu Ide (1990–92)
	Tadashi Aruga (1992–94)
	Tatsuro Nomura (1994–96)
	Hitoshi Abe (1996-98)
	Hiroko Sato (1998–2000)

*The Japanese Journal of American Studies* is published annually by the Japanese Association for American Studies. Address all correspondence to the Editor, *JJAS*, The Japanese Association for American Studies, **%** Center for Pacific and American Studies, Graduate School of Arts and Science, The University of Tokyo, 3-8-1 Komaba, Meguro-ku, Tokyo, Japan 153-8902.