## THE JAPANESE ASSOCIATION FOR AMERICAN STUDIES

Office: Center for American Studies

University of Tokyo

3-8-1 Komaba, Meguro-ku, Tokyo, Japan 153-8902

(Telephone & Fax 03-5454-6163)

Officers (1998–2000) President

Hiroko Sato Tokyo Woman's Christian University

**Vice Presidents** 

Kensaburo Shinkawa Ferris University Toyoomi Nagata Ritsumeikan University

**Executive Directors** 

Eiichi Akimoto *Chiba University*Natsuki Aruga *Saitama University*Fumiko Fujita *Tsuda College* 

Takeshi Igarashi University of Tokyo
Eisaku Kihira Kyoto University
Masako Notoji University of Tokyo
Takashi Sasaki Doshisha University
Yoshiko Takita University of Tokyo

Daizaburo Yui University of Tokyo

Past Presidents Yasaka Takagi (1947–66)

Shigeharu Matsumoto (1966-68)

Naozo Ueno (1968–70) Keiji Ohara (1970–72) Hiroshi Shimizu (1972–74) Kenichi Nakaya (1974–76)

Yasuo Suga (1976–78) Kinuko Kubota (1978–80) Makoto Saito (1980–82) Akira Imazu (1982–84) Motoo Kaji (1984–86) Nagayo Homma (1986–88)

Yasuo Sakakibara (1988–90)

Yoshimitsu Ide (1990–92) Tadashi Aruga (1992–94)

Tatsuro Nomura (1994–96) Hitoshi Abe (1996–98)

The Japanese Journal of American Studies is published annually by the Japanese Association for American Studies. Address all correspondence to the Editor, *JJAS*, The Japanese Association for American Studies, **%** Center for American Studies, University of Tokyo, 3-8-1 Komaba, Meguro-ku, Tokyo, Japan 153-8902.